Democratic Socialists of America

Lessons From The 2022 National Protest In Ecuador

Thursday, August 25th at 8:00pm ET/7:00pm CT/6:00pm MT/5:00pm PT

Lessons From The 2022 National Protest In Ecuador. is hosted by the DSA International Committee.

For 18 days in June 2022, the people of Ecuador, led by the indigenous and poorest, fought austerity to a halt. Tens of thousands barricaded highways, paralyzed the capital and much of the nation. Eight people were killed and hundreds injured by police.

Led by the Confederation of Indigenous Nationalities of Ecuador (Conaie), poor and working people won major economic and political concessions, and other demands are in negotiation.

Top leaders of this "Paro Nacional" and grassroots organizers from the indigenous communities will explain how they did it and what happens next.

    Not ? Click here.