Democratic Socialists of America

DSA in Brazil Report Back Call

Monday, June 27th at 7:30 PM ET/6:30 PM CT/5:30 PM MT/4:30 PM PT

From April 29 - May 4, Kristian Hernandez, Ashik Siddique, and Sofia Cutler Guimaraes (NPC), Jana Silverman (International Committee), James E-T (NCC-YDSA), and Gabriel Acevero, (Maryland State Delegate - Socialists in Office) went to Sao Paulo, Brazil as part of an exchange hosted by the Partido dos Trabalhadores (PT), Central Unica dos Trabalhadores (CUT), and Foro de Sao Paulo.

During the week they spent in Brazil, they heard first-hand about the attacks against workers being spearheaded by Jair Bolsonaro's neo-fascist government, and the tragic consequences of the 1964-1985 US-sponsored military dictatorship. However, they also learned about how unions, social movements and socialist activists are resisting neo-fascism and neoliberalism, and building the campaign to elect Lula in this October's Presidential elections.

Join the webinar to hear from the members of the DSA in Brazil delegation about what DSA can learn from the struggles of Brazilian popular movements, and discuss how DSA can play a role in defending democracy in Brazil during this crucial election year. In addition to the delegation members, the call will also feature James Green, Co-coordinator of the US Network for Democracy in Brazil, Alexandre Pupo, International Affairs Secretary of the PT youth wing, and other representatives of the PT and CUT that DSA met with during the trip.

    Not ? Click here.